Friday, March 20, 2020

Mini Review: The Sea Glass Cottage by RaeAnne Thayne


The Sea Glas Cottage by Rae Anne Thaye
Publication Date: March 17th 2020 by HQN Books
Pages: 384
Source: Publisher
Purchase Links: Amazon | B & N | Harlequin | Books-A-Million | Target
Walmart | Google | iBooks | Indiebound

About the book:

From the New York Times bestselling author RaeAnne Thayne comes a brand-new novel for fans of Debbie Macomber and Susan Wiggs. RaeAnne Thayne tells the story of an emotional homecoming that brings hope and healing to three generations of women. 

The life Olivia Harper always dreamed of isn’t so dreamy these days. The 16-hour work days are unfulfilling and so are things with her on-again, off-again boyfriend. But when she hears that her estranged mother, Juliet, has been seriously injured in a car accident, Liv has no choice but to pack up her life and head home to beautiful Cape Sanctuary on the Northern California coast. 
It’s just for a few months—that’s what Liv keeps telling herself. But the closer she gets to Cape Sanctuary, the painful memories start flooding back: Natalie, her vibrant, passionate older sister who downward-spiraled into addiction. The fights with her mother who enabled her sister at every turn. The overdose that took Natalie, leaving her now-teenaged daughter, Caitlin, an orphan. 
As Liv tries to balance her own needs with those of her injured mother and an obstinate, resentful fifteen-year-old, it becomes clear that all three Harper women have been keeping heartbreaking secrets from one another. And as those secrets are revealed, Liv, Juliet, and Caitlin will see that it’s never too late—or too early—to heal family wounds and find forgiveness.


My Thoughts:
Olivia Harper goes back to her hometown, Cape Sanctuary, when her mother, Juliet, falls and can’t run the family business. She comes home to an angry fifteen-year-old niece, and her childhood crush, Cooper, now the Fire Chief of Cape Sanctuary.

This is a story of healing between the Harper women, dealing with past tragedy, but also about finding love for both Juliet and Olivia.  I do love a story of unrequited romance, and friends turning into more, so I loved both Olivia and Juliet’s journey! Caitlin had her own perspective and story, too.

This beautiful story was set in a small town by the sea, a place that came to life, vividly described by the author so I could almost feel the sea breezes off the sea right along with the characters!


4 Suns







Author Bio:
New York Times bestselling author RaeAnne Thayne finds inspiration in the beautiful northern Utah mountains where she lives with her family. Her books have won numerous honors, including six RITA Award nominations from Romance Writers of America and Career Achievement and Romance Pioneer awards from RT Book Reviews. She loves to hear from readers and can be reached through her website at www.raeannethayne.com.

Connect with RaeAnne Thayne:




11 comments:

  1. I'd love to step inside this book and wait out the coronavirus there by the sea. Thayne's books are always such fun reads. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, me too! Sounds like a beautiful place to be. :)

      Delete
  2. That sounds like a good book, glad to hear you enjoyed it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. More and more I enjoy books with cross-generational stories and a story together like that.

    ReplyDelete
  4. A small town by the sea sounds like a beautiful setting, and I love a small town, friends to lovers romance. I think it's neat that both mother and daughter get their own romance, and you get the interaction between the Harper Woman. Lovely Review Rachel :)

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete
  5. I like a good family drama, and then there's a twofer romance to boot. Sounds good to me

    ReplyDelete
  6. I really need to read RaeAnne Thayne soon. This sounds like a nice small town romance.

    ReplyDelete