Tuesday, April 21, 2020

Review: Cowboy Come Home by Carly Bloom


Publication Date: March 31st 2020 by Forever
Pages: 512 (including novella)
Source: Publisher
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Audible

About the book:

Welcome to Big Verde, Texas, where a love-'em-and-leave-'em cowboy faces his greatest challenge yet---the woman he left behind. Perfect for fans of New York Times bestselling authors Lori Wilde and Carolyn Brown.

Some cowboys aren't cut out to be Prince Charming---and Claire Kowalski knows that better than anyone. She gave her heart to Ford Jarvis two years ago, yet that didn't keep him from disappearing into the sunset. Now that he's back in Big Verde, Texas, she's determined not to make the same mistake twice. But the ruggedly sexy cowboy still knows how to push all her buttons, and avoiding him is nearly impossible when she needs his help.

Ford didn't plan on returning home---ever---but when he hears that the Kowalski ranch is in trouble, he hightails it back to town. He's not eager to be reminded of the life he can never have, but his time in Big Verde is only temporary. He'll stay long enough to get the ranch up and running, then hit the road again. But when Ford finds out the new foreman he's training is Claire, still as stubborn and beautiful as ever, this cowboy is going to have to decide what matters most---repeating the mistakes of the past or fighting for a future with the only woman he's ever loved..

My Thoughts:
I’m a sucker for a second chance romance! The thought of two people who should’ve been together getting another go at HEA just makes me happy, and Claire and Ford’s story was a standout in a sea of romances.

Two years ago Ford and Claire couldn’t keep their hands off each other. Ford worked at Claire’s family ranch, but he made it clear that their romance was temporary. They fell hard for each other and Claire asked him to stay, and even though Ford wanted to stay he left anyways, believing himself to be cursed and doomed to fail in romance. Now he’s back at the ranch as foreman and determined to keep his distance from Claire, but resistance is futile! Claire doesn’t want to get her heart broken all over again either, but these two are like magnets unable to fight that pull, and what a delicious pull it was!

Ford was a good man, not a guy who didn’t want to commit because he wanted to play the field, but because he believed any woman he attached himself would end up with a broken heart because of a curse. When he sees the happiness of the other couples in town, he yearns to have what they do. I had no idea cowboys were so superstitious, but I was happy when Ford started to realize that life is what you make of it, and not dictated by a ridiculous curse.

This story was more than a romance, it was about family and friends coming together in difficult times. I loved the way both Claire and Ford stepped up when they were needed. Claire putting her big girl panties on and taking on a role that wasn’t her dream because her family needed her. I loved the little community of Big Verde and how they banded together when disaster struck.

I just loved Cowboy Come Home so much! It was well-written, funny with just the right amount of sizzle! Omg! I was laughing out loud so many times: Oscar the cat, Bubba and Trista, the book club meeting were all kinds of funny!!  I loved this quirky set of secondary characters! I immediately requested the first book when I finished because I loved the Ford and Claire’s story so much. A definite recommend!

4.5 Suns



22 comments:

  1. Cowboy romance are the sweetest :)

    Beena @ Beena Khan

    ReplyDelete
  2. Though I always roll my eyes for a moment at two, when I find the you're-better-off-without-me trope, but I always end up enjoying them. Add in the second chance romance, and I am all in. The promise of laughter and quirky characters is gravy for me. Sounds wonderful!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do too, but this wasn't to the point of annoying, thank goodness!

      Delete
  3. Have you ever counted up how many romance novels have the word cowboy in the title? I haven't...but there's a lot! Probably because everyone loves a good cowboy. :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Probably a lot. I know it always gets my attention! I'm a sucker for a sexy cowboy. ;)

      Delete
  4. I love when an author can tie in deeper meanings to what is usually a straight forward story. Add to that the Texas setting (my home state) and I'm in!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do, too. It makes the difference between a standout story and just the same old, same old. I've only been to Texas once, but I'd love to visit again. Especially to check out a cattle ranch like the one featured in this story. Sounds wonderful!

      Delete
  5. That community sounds so wonderful and I love that the pair got a new chance and he could get past the curse business (I know bull riders get superstitious, but didn't realize cowboys did too). :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had no idea either were superstitious, but I guess if you're doing something dangerous like bull riding you'd be on the lookout for bad luck, and hoping for any good luck! :)

      Delete
  6. I too love a good second chance romance. I like that it had you laughing. I wonder what was he superstitious about?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. He thought he was cursed with bad luck in the love department. Doomed to break the heart of any woman he loved. Nonsense of course.

      Delete
  7. Humor always helps. The curse thing sounds a bit ridiculous though. But you rated this highly so I'm guessing it is worth a try. Sophia likes these westerns. I may be reading some more than usual as they are sounding better to me all the time. Excellent review!

    Anne - Books of My Heart

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was ridiculous and fortunately not a big part of the story. More on the back burner, which is why I was able to enjoy the story so much. Thank you, Anne! :)

      Delete
  8. Just added it to my GR TBR the other day I think I would def love this.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Oh well this sounds pretty good.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I don't think that I have read Carly Bloom but this book sounds wonderful. I have a soft spot for second chance romances and Ford and Claire sound like wonderful characters.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Definitely sounds like a fantastic cowboy romance you have here. I love seeing this in westerns....the sense of family and friend connections.

    ReplyDelete
  12. This story sounds fantastic! I love that it had sizzle and humor. I enjoy stories that include family in them as well. I'm glad you enjoyed it Rachel!

    Lindy@ A Bookish Escape

    ReplyDelete