Monday, December 17, 2012

Reviews & Giveaway: Waves 2012 Favorites

Wow! Can you believe how quickly 2012 is coming to a close?!? This year has been a fantastic reading adventure for us here at Waves of Fiction, so we wanted to take a moment to share some book highlights. 


Several of us on The Waves Team decided to get together to share our favorite book of 2012. But that’s not all!! One lucky winner will get the chance to win the bundle of books we’ve spotlight here, so take a look and be sure to enter!
On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves
Published June 7th 2012 by Penguin
Arlene's Thoughts:
On the Island is my favorite book choice for 2012. I love love love this book!!

I did not expect to feel this passionate about On the Island going into this read. I was planning to just breeze through a summer-y type book with mild interest. Well, that surely didn’t happen here! On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves was amazing! It’s one of those books that render you useless the entire time you’re lost in the pages. I wanted to give it all of my attention because it definitely captured all of my heart.

This was such a powerful story that was told in multiple perspectives between Anna and T.J. My heart went through a wide range of emotions for these two including hope, despair, happiness and oh so much angst. Beautiful book that I hear is now being optioned for a movie… I’ll be buying a ticket to that show and that’s for sure!
Gabriel’s Inferno by Sylvain Reynard
Published April 4th 2011 by Omnific Publishing 
Brandie's Thoughts:
Gabriel's Inferno far exceeded all of my expectations. I was not expecting to read such a powerful story about love and healing. The buildup of suspense made this book so hard to put down that I devoured it in a few days. It was so beautifully written and the characters so real. I adored Gabriel - flaws and all.

The parts about Dante and Beatrice, although I knew nothing about that story, didn't put me off in any way. It flowed with the story, and I even learned things that I never knew before.

Two broken people destined to save each other - it's the ultimate love story and I absolutely loved it. Fans of Fifty Shades and Bared to You will love this book!
On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1) 
On Dublin Street by Samantha Young
Published  August 14th 2012 Originally by Samantha Young Now NAL & Penguin

Rachel's Thoughts:
I wasn't surprised at all when this self-published gem was snatched up by a big publishing house!  I was blown away at how much I LOVED this story.  Plenty of spice but a weighty story, as well. Without a doubt, my favorite romance in 2012.

Jocelyn is an emotionally closed off young woman because of the tragic events in her life.  Along comes Braden (and his lovable sister Ellie) and her bounderies are shot to hell!

Braden understands and desires Jocelyn like no other, and he has the patience to wait her fears out.  He pushes his way into her life and gets under her skin. Let me tell you, this story will have you fanning yourself the entire read!

As an extra bonus here is a free short Christmas story featuring Jocelyn and Braden!  Thank you Samantha.
Strangers  
Strangers by Barbara Elsborg
Published November 2, 2009 by Ellora's Cave

Crystal's Thoughts
Strangers is that perfect blend between romance and drama.  What is between these pages is exactly what I wanted when I picked up this story.  A troubled actor, a lost soul, and a whole lot of lovin'! 

Charlie and Kate both have their troubles and we see that at their first meeting when they are both trying to commit suicide.  I expected some good drama and my oh my Elsborg delivers.  The steamy scenes are beyond hawt and the relationship that is built between these two lost souls is beautiful.  I can't imagine a better story between these two. 

This book is perfect if you are looking for a deep but fun romance.  Charlie is definitely one of my favorite male characters!
We hope you enjoyed our reviews for our 2012 Favorites!
Waves of Fiction is offering one lucky follower a chance to win the bundle of books we've spotlighted. This giveaway is open internationally to wherever The Book Depository, US Amazon, or US Barnes & Noble ships to. The winner has the option to either order the books from TBD, or choose the eBooks from US Amazon or US Barnes & Noble.
On Dublin Street (On Dublin Street, #1)Strangers
All you have to do is fill out the rafflecopter and share with us your favorite book for 2012. Good luck!
a Rafflecopter giveaway

50 comments:

  1. I have so many favorites this year, but I believe my absolute favorite is On Dublin Street! Loved Braden :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh my goodness! First of all - this is a fantastic giveaway! Thank you! My favorite book of 2012, that's hard. I started out the year not reading too much. Now I'm closing out the year reading and reading! I really enjoyed The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen. I still to that book for now, because it's the first one that comes to mind.

    Happy Holidays!
    Julie K
    kornhsl@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Flat-Out Love by Jessica Park and The Opportunist by Tarryn Fisher

    ReplyDelete
  4. My favorite book this yer i Project ELE by Rebecca Gober & Courtney Nuckels.
    Thank for the amazing giveaway! These books look great.

    ReplyDelete
  5. My favorite of 2012 is Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson.
    Thank you for the giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I have had so many favorites this year but if I have to choose one it would have to be Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire....but I have others just to many to list...:)

    Merry Christmas to you and yours!!!

    angelalove40@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. On Dublin Street is my favorite, and Easy is a close second. Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  8. that's a hard one ... i'm finishing the year with 50 shades of grey trilogy ... thank you for sharing! :D

    ReplyDelete
  9. My favorites that I waited, and waited for to be released this year was One perfect summer by Paige Toon and The marriage trap by Jennifer Probst :D

    Thanks for the giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. I have a lot of favorite books this year, so in the Contemporary Romance genre, my favorite was the Gamble Brothers series by J.Lynn but I also loved the Wallbanger by Alice Clayton :) !
    Thanks for the giveaway !

    ReplyDelete
  11. I have SO many favorites I can't choose just one. Though If I absolutely had to. I'd say Easy by Tammara Webber.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  12. One of my favorites this year (and there's quite a few!!) is Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews. :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Kickazz giveaway! Crossing my fingers and toes! Woooo Okay, so my fav books of 2012 is a little unknown historical romance indie book. It is getting more attention everyday, which is rad. The book is called, Shadow of Death by Miranda Stauffer.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Thanks for the giveaway!! :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. I loved Tell the Wolves I'm Home. Thanks for the giveaway.

    ReplyDelete
  16. I love The Fault in Our Stars by John Green,Slammed and Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover and Obsidian and Onyx by JLA! I have a lot on my list but those books I mentioned are the top ones. Thanks for the giveaway! :))

    ReplyDelete
  17. I would like to thank you for a fantastic giveaway, and a wonderful selection of books! This year my favorite book has to be 'surfing in stilettoes' by Carol E Wyer, that is of chick-lit genre. Thank you once again. x

    Email: lfountain1(at)hotmail(dot)co(dot)uk

    ReplyDelete
  18. My favorite of 2012 is Reality Check by Karen Turt and The Iron Duke by Meljean Brooks.
    Thanks for this amazing giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  19. i love OBSIDIAN by jennifer l. armentrout
    thx u :)

    ReplyDelete
  20. I haven't really picked a favorite yet. One that immediately came to mind was Lucky In Love by Jill Shalvis. I'm not sure it was my absolute favorite for the year, but it's definitely in the top ten.

    ReplyDelete
  21. I've read so many great books this year, it wouldn't be fair to single out just one. So I'll list a few:

    The Taker (Book 1) and The Reckoning (Book 2) by Alma Katsu
    The Blinding Knife by Brent Weeks
    Tart by Lauren Dane
    When The Duchess Said Yes by Isabella Bradford
    A Lady Awakened by Celia Grant

    There are many more and also a bunch that was published prior to 2012.

    ReplyDelete
  22. Did Ready Player One come out this year or last? Loved that one.

    ReplyDelete
  23. Gunmetal Magic by Ilona Andrews.

    ReplyDelete
  24. The one I absolutely loved is Slammed by Colleen Hoover :)

    Thanks and Happy holidays!

    ReplyDelete
  25. Creep by Jennifer Hillier
    Thanks for the generous giveaway :)

    ReplyDelete
  26. I have so many! Fifty Shades, Easy, Slammed, Sea of Tranquility!

    ReplyDelete
  27. I have too many favorites! Reason to Breathe, Barely Breathing, Bared to You, Reflected in You, The Sea of Tranquility, Slammed and Point of Retreat, The Elemental Mystery series by Elizabeth Hunter, Undeniable, The Secret of Ella and Micha, and so many more!

    ReplyDelete
  28. Oh.. there's a lot of amazing books this year. The Fault in Our, The Sea of Tranquility, On Dublin Street and The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight would be some of them.

    ReplyDelete
  29. Bared to You, Fifty Shades, Reason to Breathe

    ReplyDelete
  30. My fave book this year is The Edge of Never, Betrayed and alien series by Gini Goch

    ReplyDelete
  31. I really loved On the Island and The Secret of Ella and Micha! Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  32. Insurgent (Divergent #2)by Veronica Roth

    ReplyDelete
  33. My fav 2012 book is an offer she can't refuse by emma darcy

    ReplyDelete
  34. The Edge of Never by J.A. Redmerski

    ReplyDelete
  35. My 2012 faves were Cast in peril by Michelle Sagara (Chronicles of Elantra), Trapped by Kevin Hearne (Iron Druid) & Chasing Magic by Stacia Kane.

    Happy Holidays & thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

    ReplyDelete
  36. Dublin Street, Captive & Seduced in the Dark!

    ReplyDelete
  37. I have soooo many to choose from but the one from the Top of my head would be Pushing the Limits and Tempting the player! :D Thanks for the awesome giveaway! :D

    ReplyDelete
  38. Dublin Street was a favorite along with Her Best Worst Mistake by Sarah Mayberry.

    ReplyDelete
  39. I so want to read on Dublin Street.. Loved Gabrielle Inferno..

    ReplyDelete
  40. Great Giveaway. My favorite book of 2012 was the fault in our stars.

    ReplyDelete
  41. So hard to choose:
    Lothaire by Kresley Cole
    The Ilona Andrews books
    Masters of the Shadowlands

    thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  42. Slammed by Colleen Hoover :D and Love and Skate by Lila Felix
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  43. My favorite was the Prince by Tiffany Reisz.

    ReplyDelete
  44. There were so many great books it is hard to pick. Born of Silence, The Crossfire Series, Fever just to name a few.

    ReplyDelete
  45. I liked the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning!
    Came out a while ago but didn't read it until 2012

    ReplyDelete
  46. Glad to see that you also enjoyed some of these books. I have a few favorites...On Dublin Street, Gabriel's Inferno & Gabriel's Rapture, Reflected in You & Up in the Air series by R.k. Lilley. If you haven't read the last two...check them out.

    JessieL62 at comcast dot net

    ReplyDelete
  47. Wow! What awesome recs!! Thank you everyone for commenting and sharing your 2012 favorites!!

    We'll announce the winner soon. Good luck!!

    XD

    ReplyDelete