Saturday, March 2, 2013

Review: Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) by J. Kenner

Release Me (Stark Trilogy, #1)

Release Me by J. Kenner
Published January 1st 2013 by Bantam
Review copy provided by Netgalley
 
About the book:
For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
 
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.
 
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.
 
My Thoughts:
 
I absolutely loved this book. I didn't want it to end. It's so nice to find another book/series to fill the void Fifty Shades and Crossfire left in me. Although this book does have it's similarities to those series - it was different enough to stand out and I thought it was fantastic.

Damien Stark. Sexy, successful, controlling, romantic, sweet - he's the whole package. A retired professional tennis pro turned mega business billionaire - he's used to getting everything and everyone he wants.

Nikki Fairchild grew up being paraded around in the pageant world by her controlling mother. At one particular pageant she has a run-in with Damien Stark that she'll never forget. Once Nikki has finally had enough of her mother's controlling ways, she sets off to LA to make something of herself and lands a job that will bring her back into contact with Damien.

Both Nikki and Damien are very broken people suffering from their own demons. And because of those demons, they understand each other better then anyone else and it's that connection, not to mention the heat and intense sexual connection, that pulls them together like magnets. Both are very strong with the need to control, and the comfort they find in each other is what they both need to heal from their pasts. In the beginning the push and pull of whether Nikki was going to give in was slightly frustrating, but it was really beautiful to see these two fall for each other, once the walls started coming down. Incredibly sweet and sexy - it was an emotional roller coaster, and I didn't want the ride to end.

Although not a cliffhanger ending - it does leave some unanswered questions intended to make the reader continue the series. And I can't wait for the next book!
 
 
5 Suns

 

6 comments:

  1. Sounds like my kind of book! I will have to check it out! Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh, it's nice that even though Release Me is comparable to 50 Shades and Crossfire, it stands out on it's on. I'll definitely give it a shot.
    Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I really liked Damien. he was strong, sexy, powerful and a complete package. I wasn't a fan of Nikki that much or it's just that I hated her mother and I wanted to punch her. I'm really hoping someone does it to her in the next book. It still reminded me of fifty shades but on a mild level. Awesome review :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I definitely have to read this! I need to read this! I can't put up with waiting for Entwined with You (Crossfire #3) to come out!-.-
    Thanks for sharing!(:

    ReplyDelete
  5. I just got this book in the mail, thanks to your review I can't wait to start reading it! I loved Fifty Shades of Grey and I love the Crossfire series so I'm hoping this fills the void for me too

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the comments! If you get the chance to read this one, I hope you enjoy it!

    ReplyDelete